Was the Other Driver Not Paying Attention?
Brian Brandt holds distracted drivers accountable.
Texting while driving is against the law for all drivers in California. Unfortunately, many drivers ignore these rules and regulations. As a result, texting while driving accidents have become one of the most common types of car accidents in the state.
But texting accidents aren't the only kinds of distracted driving accidents we handle at The Law Offices of Brian Brandt in Southern California. We have years of experience dealing with car accidents caused by many different types of distracted drivers.
If a driver who was not paying attention caused your accident, we want to help you fight for justice. Brian has a comprehensive understanding of California's distracted driving laws. He has case results to prove it - hundreds of millions of dollars recovered by our firm for accident victims just like you.
You may be entitled to compensation if a distracted driver caused your crash.
Along with texting while driving, California also has strict laws prohibiting drivers from using hand-held cell phones while driving. These are primary enforcement laws in California. That means a police officer can stop a driver solely for texting while driving or using a hand-held cell phone even if the driver is not breaking any other traffic laws.
These laws exist because numerous studies have found that texting while driving and operating a hand-held cell phone while driving greatly increase the possibility of a driver causing a car accident. Other common causes of distracted driving accidents include:
- Eating while driving
- Operating a GPS while driving
- Looking at a map while driving
- Adjusting the car radio
Texting while driving law in California
California has been a leading state when it comes to preventing people from texting while driving. Since 2008, it has banned texting while driving for all drivers statewide. If a driver is cited for texting, the penalty for the first offense is a $76 fine and a $190 fine for the second offense.
Operating a handheld cell phone while driving is also against the law in California. However, there are exceptions in certain cases for both laws. Those exceptions include:
- Making an emergency phone call while driving
- Drivers operating authorized emergency vehicles
- Using an electronic map on a cell phone
California's driving laws, particularly when it comes to cell phones and other mobile devices, change constantly. Talk to us immediately if you've been in an accident caused by a distracted driver.
How can Brian help?
We can aggressively pursue cell phone records to verify if the driver was texting at the time of the accident. We also will obtain a copy of your official accident report - and we provide this service free of charge. We will analyze that report to make sure it's accurate.
As part of our accident investigation, we also will discuss all the legal options available to you and develop a strategy that addresses your specific circumstances. We regularly consult with outside experts. An attorney with three decades of experience, Brian is fully prepared to take your case to trial if necessary.
Call (866) 408-1221 and schedule a free initial consultation in our office. We can also come to your home, hospital room or other location that is more convenient for you.